Insights

Industry impulses

ACTRANS Insights

Final assembly of Eurofighter at Airbus Defence and Space, Germany. Source: Picture Alliance, DPA/EADSPicture Alliance, DPA/EADS

Managing rapid growth in the Defence industry or how the elephant learns to dance

By Dr. Mike Körner and Dr. Martin Krause // After decades of contraction, the defence industry now needs to grow substantially. In the past, defence projects have not exactly been associated with quick time-to-market schedules or reliable…
Infantry Fighting Vehicle Lynx KF31. Source: Wikimedia Commons. Copyright: Shaun Connors.

Hybrid drives for military vehicles?

By Dr. Martin Krause // Hybrid and electric vehicles are increasingly successful on the commercial market and are no longer a technical vision. But is this technology also usefully applicable in a military context? The voices calling for…
SIG SAUER welcome. Source: Picture Alliance, Lisa Marie Pane

A new NATO calibre for assault rifles?

By Dr. Martin Krause // On 19 April 2022, the US Armed Forces declared with regards to the Next Generation Squad Weapon tender (NGSW) to procure new 6.8x51 mm calibre assault rifles and machine guns from SIG Sauer for the US Army. The purpose…
Satellit umkreist die Erde. 3D-Szene. Copyright: 3DSculptor, iStock #512144122

European satellite constellation: a virus and Europe’s options

By Daniel Salzer // We live in difficult times. From Wuhan, a Chinese city so far unknown to most of us, an epidemic spreads across China, and within a short period of time transforms into a global pandemic. No place on this Earth is safe…
Raketenstart Flugbahn. Copyright: SpaceX-Imagery, Pixabay #ge259d5966

A European “Space Force”: the “Dark Side of Force” must be illuminated

By Daniel Salzer // The alarm signal lights up on the screens of the employees in the blue-lit and darkened rooms - a Soyuz rocket is launched from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome with an unknown payload, for an unknown purpose. Once in space,…

From Aviation Safety to Cyber Resilience

By Dr. Marco Soijer // Leveraging aerospace industry’s century-long safety culture for cybersecurity Software development has a poor safety record. The number of cyberattacks has risen dramatically since 2004, clearly outrunning the…

Agile methods in complex Aerospace & Defence projects

By Martin Kraus // The origin of agile methods About 25 years ago, the hype around “lean” took of: lean management, lean production, lean etc. Nowadays, the new buzzword is “agile”. At our clients and everywhere in the industry…

European „Space Force“: next steps in Europe and Germany

By Daniel Salzer // Introduction The necessity of a European „Space Force“ is not in question anymore, its creation only a matter of time. Even the President of the French Republic, Mr Macron, has given his guidance on the subject. It…

Performance Based Contracting – an innovative contract and business model for the defence industry

By Dr. Mike Körner // “Performance-based contracting" (PBC) is gaining significance in the context of maintenance and spare parts procurement for the main weapon systems of the German Armed Forces. Where flying platforms such as Eurofighter…

Project crises and crisis projects – mechanisms and ways out

By Dr.-Ing. Martin Kraus // Even under perfect conditions, projects and programmes run into difficulties. Initial problems - which may be understandable and quite typical for projects - can be overcome. As work progresses, however, they…

Leverage Process Mining for more process efficiency

By Susanne Steinbicker and Dr. Mike Körner // Process Mining – What’s new? Process Mining is an innovative technique supporting process optimization. Executing process steps in modern IT systems generates a series of digital footprints.…
Final assembly of Eurofighter at Airbus Defence and Space, Germany. Source: Picture Alliance, DPA/EADSPicture Alliance, DPA/EADS

Managing rapid growth in the Defence industry or how the elephant learns to dance

By Dr. Mike Körner and Dr. Martin Krause // After decades of contraction, the defence industry now needs to grow substantially. In the past, defence projects have not exactly been associated with quick time-to-market schedules or reliable…
Infantry Fighting Vehicle Lynx KF31. Source: Wikimedia Commons. Copyright: Shaun Connors.

Hybrid drives for military vehicles?

By Dr. Martin Krause // Hybrid and electric vehicles are increasingly successful on the commercial market and are no longer a technical vision. But is this technology also usefully applicable in a military context? The voices calling for…
SIG SAUER welcome. Source: Picture Alliance, Lisa Marie Pane

A new NATO calibre for assault rifles?

By Dr. Martin Krause // On 19 April 2022, the US Armed Forces declared with regards to the Next Generation Squad Weapon tender (NGSW) to procure new 6.8x51 mm calibre assault rifles and machine guns from SIG Sauer for the US Army. The purpose…
Satellit umkreist die Erde. 3D-Szene. Copyright: 3DSculptor, iStock #512144122

European satellite constellation: a virus and Europe’s options

By Daniel Salzer // We live in difficult times. From Wuhan, a Chinese city so far unknown to most of us, an epidemic spreads across China, and within a short period of time transforms into a global pandemic. No place on this Earth is safe…
Raketenstart Flugbahn. Copyright: SpaceX-Imagery, Pixabay #ge259d5966

A European “Space Force”: the “Dark Side of Force” must be illuminated

By Daniel Salzer // The alarm signal lights up on the screens of the employees in the blue-lit and darkened rooms - a Soyuz rocket is launched from the Plesetsk Cosmodrome with an unknown payload, for an unknown purpose. Once in space,…

From Aviation Safety to Cyber Resilience

By Dr. Marco Soijer // Leveraging aerospace industry’s century-long safety culture for cybersecurity Software development has a poor safety record. The number of cyberattacks has risen dramatically since 2004, clearly outrunning the…

Agile methods in complex Aerospace & Defence projects

By Martin Kraus // The origin of agile methods About 25 years ago, the hype around “lean” took of: lean management, lean production, lean etc. Nowadays, the new buzzword is “agile”. At our clients and everywhere in the industry…

European „Space Force“: next steps in Europe and Germany

By Daniel Salzer // Introduction The necessity of a European „Space Force“ is not in question anymore, its creation only a matter of time. Even the President of the French Republic, Mr Macron, has given his guidance on the subject. It…

Performance Based Contracting – an innovative contract and business model for the defence industry

By Dr. Mike Körner // “Performance-based contracting" (PBC) is gaining significance in the context of maintenance and spare parts procurement for the main weapon systems of the German Armed Forces. Where flying platforms such as Eurofighter…

Project crises and crisis projects – mechanisms and ways out

By Dr.-Ing. Martin Kraus // Even under perfect conditions, projects and programmes run into difficulties. Initial problems - which may be understandable and quite typical for projects - can be overcome. As work progresses, however, they…

Leverage Process Mining for more process efficiency

By Susanne Steinbicker and Dr. Mike Körner // Process Mining – What’s new? Process Mining is an innovative technique supporting process optimization. Executing process steps in modern IT systems generates a series of digital footprints.…

Insights

Fachliche Impulse

ACTRANS Insights

Infantry Fighting Vehicle Lynx KF31. Source: Wikimedia Commons. Copyright: Shaun Connors.Wikimedia Commons, Shaun Connors

Hybrid­antriebe für Militär­fahr­zeuge?

Von Dr. Martin Krause // Hybrid- und Elektro­fahr­zeuge sind auf dem zivilen Markt immer erfolg­reicher und längst keine tech­nische Vision mehr. Doch ist diese Techno­logie auch im milit­ärischen Kontext sinn­voll einsetz­bar?…
SIG SAUER US signboard. Source: Picture Alliance, Lisa Marie PanePicture Alliance, Lisa Marie Pane

Ein neues Nato-Kaliber für Sturm­gewehre?

Von Dr. Martin Krause // Am 19. April 2022 erklärten die US-Streitkräfte im Rahmen der Next Generation Squad Weapon Aus­schrei­bung (NGSW) für die US Army neue Sturm- und Maschinengewehre von SIG Sauer im Kaliber 6.8x51 mm zu beschaffen,…
Satellit umkreist die Erde. 3D-Szene. Copyright: 3DSculptor, iStock #512144122copyright: 3DSculptor, iStock #512144122

Euro­pä­ische Satelliten­kon­stella­tion: Ein Virus und die euro­päi­schen Optionen

Von Daniel Salzer // Wir leben in schwierigen Zeiten. Aus einer den meisten von uns bis dahin unbe­kannten Stadt in China, Wuhan, breitet sich zuerst in China eine Epidemie aus, die sich dann in kurzer Zeit in eine Pandemie ver­wandelt.…
Raketenstart Flugbahn. Copyright: SpaceX-Imagery, Pixabay #ge259d5966copyright: SpaceX-Imagery, pixabay #ge259d5966

Eine Europäische „Space Force“: die „Dunkle Seite der Macht“ muss aus­ge­leuchtet werden

Von Daniel Salzer // Auf den Bildschirmen der Mitarbeiter der blau ausgeleuchteten und verdunkelten Räume leuchtet das Alarm­zeichen auf: es startet eine Sojus-Rakete vom Plesetsk-Kosmodrom mit unbekannter Nutzlast, mit unbekanntem Zweck.…

Von der Luft­fahrt­sicher­heit zur Cyber-Resilienz

Von Dr. Marco Soijer // Wie die jahrhundertealte Sicherheitskultur in der Luftfahrtindustrie zu erhöhter Cybersicherheit beitragen kann Softwareentwicklung hat eine schlechte Sicherheitsbilanz. Die Zahl der Cyberattacken ist seit 2004…

Agile Methoden in komplexen Aerospace & Defence-Projekten

Von Dr. Martin Kraus // Der Ursprung agiler Methoden Vor etwa 25 Jahren begann der Hype um „Lean“: Lean Management, Lean Production, Lean etc. Das Buzz-Word der heutigen Zeit ist „Agile“. Bei unseren Kunden und in der ge­samten…

Europäische „Space Force“: nächste Schritte in Europa und in Deutschland

, , , , , , , , ,
Von Daniel Salzer // Einführung Die Notwendigkeit einer europäischen „Space Force“ ist mittlerweile keine Frage mehr, deren Aufbau nur eine Frage der Zeit. Sogar der Präsident der Französischen Republik, Herr Macron, hat sich…

Performance Based Contracting – Innovatives Vertrags- und Geschäfts­modell für die Defence-Industrie

Von Dr. Mike Körner // „Performance Based Contracting“ (PBC) spielt bei Beschaffungen der Bundeswehr in den Bereichen der Instandhaltung und Ersatzteilversorgung der Hauptwaffensysteme eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle. Bei den fliegenden…

Projektkrisen und Krisenprojekte – Mechanismen und Lösungen

Von Dr.-Ing. Martin Kraus // Trotz bester Voraussetzungen geraten Projekte und Programme in Schieflage. Anfangs noch verständliche und für Projekte durchaus typische Probleme werden zunächst gemeistert. Im weiteren Verlauf entwickeln…

Mit Process Mining neue Effizienzen in den Prozessen heben

Von Susanne Steinbicker und Dr. Mike Körner // Process Mining - Was ist neu? Process Mining ist eine innovative Methode zur Prozessoptimierung. Hierbei werden die digitalen Spuren (z.B. Event Logs), welche moderne IT-Systeme bei der…
Infantry Fighting Vehicle Lynx KF31. Source: Wikimedia Commons. Copyright: Shaun Connors.Wikimedia Commons, Shaun Connors

Hybrid­antriebe für Militär­fahr­zeuge?

Von Dr. Martin Krause // Hybrid- und Elektro­fahr­zeuge sind auf dem zivilen Markt immer erfolg­reicher und längst keine tech­nische Vision mehr. Doch ist diese Techno­logie auch im milit­ärischen Kontext sinn­voll einsetz­bar?…
SIG SAUER US signboard. Source: Picture Alliance, Lisa Marie PanePicture Alliance, Lisa Marie Pane

Ein neues Nato-Kaliber für Sturm­gewehre?

Von Dr. Martin Krause // Am 19. April 2022 erklärten die US-Streitkräfte im Rahmen der Next Generation Squad Weapon Aus­schrei­bung (NGSW) für die US Army neue Sturm- und Maschinengewehre von SIG Sauer im Kaliber 6.8x51 mm zu beschaffen,…
Satellit umkreist die Erde. 3D-Szene. Copyright: 3DSculptor, iStock #512144122copyright: 3DSculptor, iStock #512144122

Euro­pä­ische Satelliten­kon­stella­tion: Ein Virus und die euro­päi­schen Optionen

Von Daniel Salzer // Wir leben in schwierigen Zeiten. Aus einer den meisten von uns bis dahin unbe­kannten Stadt in China, Wuhan, breitet sich zuerst in China eine Epidemie aus, die sich dann in kurzer Zeit in eine Pandemie ver­wandelt.…
Raketenstart Flugbahn. Copyright: SpaceX-Imagery, Pixabay #ge259d5966copyright: SpaceX-Imagery, pixabay #ge259d5966

Eine Europäische „Space Force“: die „Dunkle Seite der Macht“ muss aus­ge­leuchtet werden

Von Daniel Salzer // Auf den Bildschirmen der Mitarbeiter der blau ausgeleuchteten und verdunkelten Räume leuchtet das Alarm­zeichen auf: es startet eine Sojus-Rakete vom Plesetsk-Kosmodrom mit unbekannter Nutzlast, mit unbekanntem Zweck.…

Von der Luft­fahrt­sicher­heit zur Cyber-Resilienz

Von Dr. Marco Soijer // Wie die jahrhundertealte Sicherheitskultur in der Luftfahrtindustrie zu erhöhter Cybersicherheit beitragen kann Softwareentwicklung hat eine schlechte Sicherheitsbilanz. Die Zahl der Cyberattacken ist seit 2004…

Agile Methoden in komplexen Aerospace & Defence-Projekten

Von Dr. Martin Kraus // Der Ursprung agiler Methoden Vor etwa 25 Jahren begann der Hype um „Lean“: Lean Management, Lean Production, Lean etc. Das Buzz-Word der heutigen Zeit ist „Agile“. Bei unseren Kunden und in der ge­samten…

Europäische „Space Force“: nächste Schritte in Europa und in Deutschland

, , , , , , , , ,
Von Daniel Salzer // Einführung Die Notwendigkeit einer europäischen „Space Force“ ist mittlerweile keine Frage mehr, deren Aufbau nur eine Frage der Zeit. Sogar der Präsident der Französischen Republik, Herr Macron, hat sich…

Performance Based Contracting – Innovatives Vertrags- und Geschäfts­modell für die Defence-Industrie

Von Dr. Mike Körner // „Performance Based Contracting“ (PBC) spielt bei Beschaffungen der Bundeswehr in den Bereichen der Instandhaltung und Ersatzteilversorgung der Hauptwaffensysteme eine zunehmend wichtige Rolle. Bei den fliegenden…

Projektkrisen und Krisenprojekte – Mechanismen und Lösungen

Von Dr.-Ing. Martin Kraus // Trotz bester Voraussetzungen geraten Projekte und Programme in Schieflage. Anfangs noch verständliche und für Projekte durchaus typische Probleme werden zunächst gemeistert. Im weiteren Verlauf entwickeln…

Mit Process Mining neue Effizienzen in den Prozessen heben

Von Susanne Steinbicker und Dr. Mike Körner // Process Mining - Was ist neu? Process Mining ist eine innovative Methode zur Prozessoptimierung. Hierbei werden die digitalen Spuren (z.B. Event Logs), welche moderne IT-Systeme bei der…